Item FWGC-1111706 - Union Mill, Cranbrook, recently restored

Reference code

FWGC-1111706

Title

Union Mill, Cranbrook, recently restored

Date(s)

  • 1960 (Creation)

Level of description

Item

Extent and medium

One 35mm slide

Name of creator

(1917-1998)

Biographical history

Frank W Gregory was widely regarded as on the foremost authorities on mills and milling in the UK. He was brought up in Brighton and developed a fascination for vernacular buildings, especially windmills, whilst on childhood rambles with his family in the 1920s. This together with an interest in the geology and industrial archaeology of Sussex and the South Downs, developed in his teens, motivated his lifelong quest to discover as much as possible about windmills and watermills and their place in manufacturing and production within the rural economy.

A woodwork teacher by profession, Frank travelled widely, visiting, recording, surveying and studying mills in Sussex and later throughout the UK and abroad, mostly for his own pleasure. After the war he carried out mill surveys for local authorities and also for the SPAB Mills Section, which he had joined in 1948. As a keen member of The International Molinological Society he went on many foreign mill tours and his reputation became known worldwide.

Frank used his practical skills and experience as a woodwork teacher to teach himself the craft and practice of a millwright, and soon became the acknowledged expert on traditional methods of mill restoration and conservation. The first Sussex windmill he helped to restore was Nutley Post Mill in the Ashdown Forest, and he went on to help in the restorations of Polegate, Shipley, High Salvington, Jill Mill at Clayton and Park Watermill at Bateman

Repository

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Scope and content

Dutch-type stocks fitted. Union Jack flag on fantail and crowds on stage.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling

Accruals

System of arrangement

Conditions governing access

Printed or higher resolution copies of this image can be made available, subject to a charge. Please see www.millsarchive.org/high-resolution-images for details. Alternatively, a higher resolution copy can be viewed for free at the Mills Archive; please email visitors@millsarchive.org to arrange an appointment. This image is copyright the Weald and Downland Open Air Museum. The original is held by the Weald and Downland Open Air Museum.

Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Finding aids

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Alternative identifier(s)

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion

Language(s)

Script(s)

Sources

Digital object (Master) rights area

Digital object (Reference) rights area

Digital object (Thumbnail) rights area

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Physical storage

  • Shelf: FWG 02509