Note on back reads "Up until 1929, when this was taken, farmers had their grain ground at this mill and flour was barged to London. Falling into decay, the mill was bought by Mr T A Glover and used to store and dry seed grown on the Mill Farm. The creek is not now navigable for barges."
Note on back reads "One of the two tidal mills on tributaries of the Colne, this is the one at the end of Thorrington Creek, and shows Brightlingsea Parish Church in the distance, this church has tiles all round the church in memory of those lost at sea."
Note on back reads "The Little White Mill. Built in 1818 this charming watermill on Alresford Creek, Essex, fell into disuse but fortunately it recently was bought by Mr Glover who has thoroughly repaired it & uses it to dry seeds of flowers & vegetables which he grows on the surrounding land."